Board index » Setup And Technical

Post subject: Do I need to adjust intonation ( technical dummy)
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 2:03 pm 

Okay, I'm not technically minded at all so I'm hoping for some help and advise.. I recently changed the strings, for the FIRST time, on my Ric 330. ( only last week ) I used Rics and the same gauge but the guitar hasn't sounded as good since. I should say at this stage that I am terrible at changing strings..dreadful...(which is not good as I have to change them frequently)..Anyway, since the string change, the guitar, even though it's in tune, just hasn't sounded RIGHT when playing.......I've only recently, this evening in fact, actually found out what intonation is!! (told you I was technically dull) :oops: ..After looking on the internet and reading the Ric manual I did the test on the 12th fret and sure enough some of the strings are definitely slightly sharp..So, do I need to adjust the intonation or just get someone competent to change the strings for me....If I have to change the intonation, is it as simple as turning the screws on the bridge saddle (clockwise in this case) or do I need to consider any other factors?
( I should say that the guitar is new and has only just come back to me from Rosetti who declared the guitar to be fine....it's ONLY since I changed the strings last week that it hasn't sounded quite right.... so I'm ruling out anything major)

Post subject: Re: Do I need to adjust intonation ( technical dummy)
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 2:49 pm 

It's a pretty easy thing to do, once you've done it two or three times. Figuring out which way to turn the saddle adjustment screw can be a little confusing at first. (But, you quickly realize you're turning the screw the wrong way when the string keeps getting sharper instead of flatter and closer in tune.)

Here's how I do it: