Rickenbacker International Corporation - Forum
http://www.rickenbacker.com/forum/

325C64 Bridge Tone Knob Acting Like Volume?
http://www.rickenbacker.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=14818
Page 1 of 1

Author:  krismiller [ Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:45 pm ]
Post subject:  325C64 Bridge Tone Knob Acting Like Volume?

I'm really frustrated & confused. I own over a dozen other guits & I've never heard a tone knob act more like a volume knob. Is this normal on the 325C64's? Thank you to anyone who can confirm this..

Author:  Ain'tGotNoPokemon [ Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 325C64 Bridge Tone Knob Acting Like Volume?

The only advice I can give is: Look under the hood. Make sure your wires are connected to the correct pots.

Author:  BlueRick [ Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 325C64 Bridge Tone Knob Acting Like Volume?

Check the volume and tone controls section of your owner's manual(page 2); on the vintage/replica models, the tone and volume controls are reversed.

Author:  iiipopes [ Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 325C64 Bridge Tone Knob Acting Like Volume?

First, take the control plate loose, unsolder the hot lead of the pickup from the selector switch and measure the DC resistance of the pickup from the hot lead to ground. It should be in the neighborhood of 7.4 kohms. But if it's significantly higher than that, or reads open, then you have a bad pickup connection.

It could be as simple as a cold solder joint at the pickup end of the terminal that needs to be resoldered: dab the coil connection to the terminal with a little flux, heat the iron, and let the solder remelt the joint without shorting to the pickup frame or the coil. That would solve it, if that is the problem. If not, then the coil is open.

When the pickup coil is open, it is functioning on inductance, not conductance. This makes it a type of circuit that the capacitor, because it passes AC (a sound signal) but not DC, turns into the effective volume control.

My guess is that the pickup coil opened up, and may need to be rewound or replaced.

Author:  Imperatore Battaglia [ Thu Feb 25, 2016 1:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 325C64 Bridge Tone Knob Acting Like Volume?

My 370 has the same problem, but both tone knobs are acting as volumes...

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/