Board index » Setup And Technical




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Using a 360/12 String as a 6 string?
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 3:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Staffordshire, England
Hi folks,

I'm going to be getting myself a 360 for Christmas. While I want a 360/6, I have heard of some people using a /12 as a 6. The Edge being one example (if anyone has seen the Popmart Video-although he's using a 330).

Is this something thats really feasible? If its something that would compromise the playing of the instrument too much, or potentially damage it, then I wouldnt want to do it, but if its something that many players do, then maybe it would be worth me shelling out a little more for the versatility.

Thanks in advance for any pointers anyone can give, and its really great to see a forum where so many lovers of the instrument come together with so much enthusiasm.



Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 360/12 String as a 6 string?
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Maryland
Sure I did that once with a 12 string not a Ric....just have some extra hardware it should work just fine


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 360/12 String as a 6 string?
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 3:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 119
Location: Texas
why? If you want a 6 string, then buy a 6 string...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 360/12 String as a 6 string?
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 4:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 372
Location: Bossier City, La.
Ligumo,

I suppose it's possible to use a 12 string as a 6-string. Of course one would have to adjust the truss rods accordingly. Personally I'd have one of each. My two cents :)

Eggman


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 360/12 String as a 6 string?
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 6:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 279
Location: Lexington, KY
I've done this with a cheapo acoustic I inherited a long time ago... the big issue was that the nut and saddle were cut for a 12, so the strings were off-center and felt really weird.

I suppose you could do it, but I don't understand why you'd want to... just have the nut recut (probably a $50 job at a shop for a bone one with a setup) and get a 6-string bridge for $70.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 360/12 String as a 6 string?
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 3:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 683
Location: Guam
I actually have more RIC 12s than 6s. Thus, I also was thinking of using my CW-360/12 as a six and take advantage of the vintage pickup sound. My two 6-string models both have humbuckers.

So I did take off the octave strings and give it a try. But you're right. Everything kind of minutely shifts upward toward the Low E due to the 12 bridge and nut. So it just doen't feel exactly right. It can be done and I doubt of it would cause any majot harm. It's not major but a 12 played as a 6 just doesn't totally cut it, I think.

So the Carl W. is now a proper 12 again.

Which creates a convenient excuse for this 12-string owner to justify the purchase of a shiny, new (or barely used) 6 string RIC with some VPs.

_________________
Manta
http://www.mantaraymusic.com


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 360/12 String as a 6 string?
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Seattle
I have both 360/12 and 360/6. They feel and play quite differently. If I had to have only one of them, I would take the 12 because I love the sound. There used to be a RIC that was convertable. I think you may be able to find the hardware called a "comb" that was used to pull the octave strings out of the way to allow you to play 12 or 6 strings. Maybe that is your answer.



Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 360/12 String as a 6 string?
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 4019
Location: Santa Ana, CA
The 6-12 converter, unfortunately, was not a perfect solution. You were always fretting 12 strings and as a six stringer, the strings were still offset just like you would have if you partially destrung a twelve stringer. But obviously you could make the conversion back and forth somewhat more quickly, and you could also make it anything from 7 to 11 strings as well.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 360/12 String as a 6 string?
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Staffordshire, England
Thank-you everyone for you insights. I'll probably go for a /6 after reading your replies, and maybe put the /12 on the list for next Christmas!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 360/12 String as a 6 string?
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 2:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 119
Location: Texas
Can I be on your Christmas list as well?

Honest, Pere Noel, I have been a very good boy this year and would like a 360/12MG with vintage PU's to go with my 360/6.

I have brushed my teeth, picked up my clothes, eaten all my vegetables and taken out the trash every time I am asked and even when I am not. I have picked on my little sister or broken any of her dolls (well, cutting off Barbie's head was a scientific experiment but no one else saw it that way...).

Please, Father Christmas... I won't aak for anything else (except maybe a good sepllchekir).


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » Setup And Technical


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ
X