Board index » Setup And Technical

Post subject: greenhorn setup help 360-12 1992
 Post Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 8:07 am 

I am not a musician.. I'm very green about these things. My brother recently died and left me a 1992 Rick 360-12 which was incomplete needing a tailpiece, bridge cover and nut. One screw is also missing in the bridge. I ordered all these parts including a R tailpiece which I got really lucky to find one. I have new Rick strings. I read on the forum about dabbing a little yellow glue to the nut but it also mentioned the nut may be a little too tall, one person said 1/16" too tall. If I install it without sanding down the height, would the extra 1/16" or whatever be too severe and make a perspective buyer terribly uncomfortable in the way it plays?

I am a expert woodworker, a real craftsman.. anybody have any advise on setting this up? maybe knowing the distance from the fret board would be helpful.. I can adjust the bridge and modify the height of the nut to achieve this measurement.

of course I can take it to a guitar tech or luthier and pay the green-horn fee but I prefer not to.
I would tune it with a device then when sure its ok loosen the strings.. I hear these tailpieces like to self destruct.

Post subject: Re: greenhorn setup help 360-12 1992
 Post Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 1:17 pm 

For the guitar to be really sellable it needs to be set up properly.
With all due respect you are not even a musician. Get it sorted and set up by a proper technician. It's not that expensive and it's worth every cent.

Post subject: Re: greenhorn setup help 360-12 1992
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:19 pm