Board index » Setup And Technical




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 4003 switch
 Post Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 2:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:03 pm
Posts: 78
Location: New England
The new 4003's have a push/pull switch to incorporate the old 4001 capacitor to get the same sound.

Here's a thought and a question. I never use the tone controls on any of instrument. Can I rewire a tone pot with that capacitor so I can turn the tone control and it will put the cap in or out or anywhere inbetween?

Is this possible?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4003 switch
 Post Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 8:27 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 3891
Location: Santa Ana, CA
It'd be quite easy to do that. It's simply be a matter of wiring the wiper and one end of the pot in exactly the same place the new switch goes. The taper of the pot might not make the range particularly uniform but it would work.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4003 switch
 Post Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 7:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:03 pm
Posts: 78
Location: New England
I think I understand what you are saying. However I don't think I was specific enough. I reread my original post and I don't think I explained the question to well.

I have an 2004 4003. This bass does not have the switch. I would like to remove the tone control from one of the pickups. Replace that tone control with one the would effectively put the old 4001 capacitor into the mix or take it out (or anything in between).

Would this just be a matter of replacing the capacitor?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4003 switch
 Post Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 9:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 3891
Location: Santa Ana, CA
I understood your question and my answer remains the same- it can be done with a little rewiring, the removal of the old cap, and the addition of a new one.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4003 switch
 Post Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 12:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:03 pm
Posts: 78
Location: New England
Perfect!

I thought that was how it would work. Just not sure.

I'll make that modification soon and let the forum know how it works.

Thanks, you guys are the best!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4003 switch
 Post Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 1:26 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 3891
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Just so we're on the same wavelength, the pot is across the new .0047 mFd cap, effectively allowing it full function as one end and shorting it entirely at the other. Also, I think I would tie the wiper to one end of the pot to keep out any extraneous noise, the cap going from the wiper to the other end of the pot, and each end of the pot going in line with the treble pickup.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4003 switch
 Post Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 4:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:03 pm
Posts: 78
Location: New England
Yes, that is what I will do. I have done some pretty extensive mods to other guitars so I'm not a complete novice. I usally do tie one end to the case of the pot/ground.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Board index » Setup And Technical


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ
X