Board index » Setup And Technical




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 8:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 7:54 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Melbourne Australia
Hi guys,

I want to replace the nut on my 360/12. Can someone give me some advice on the procedure. Does it pop off easily etc?
Thanks.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3362
Location: Atlanta, GA
It's glued on with what I believe is a wood glue, and should pop off without too much trouble.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:42 am
Posts: 1354
My esteemed colleague,Mr.Beatlefreak,is absolutely correct.It would be a good idea to remove the TRC,and CAREFULLY score the Conversion Varnish with an Exacto knife or razor blade,where the nut meets the finger board,headstock, and neck;this should prevent unwanted finish chipping.I usually lay a rectangular cabinet scraper,or a square edged 1 1/2" putty knife flat on the fretboard,up against the nut,& a couple of light taps with a rawhide mallet or nylon face hammer on the end of said tool will free the nut.It might also be a good idea to cover the first few inches of fretboard with blue or purple painter's masking tape,to keep from scratching the 'board.If you're scared,or worried about it,take it to a pro...but NOBODY will be as careful with your RIC as you will!Are you replacing it because it's worn,damaged,or a previous repair?Good luck,and let us know how it turns out.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 7:54 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Melbourne Australia
thanks for the advice guys. You are right. no one will take better care than me! i will change it myself. Should i put a dab of wood glue say pva when putting in the new one? i'm replacing it because the previous owner hit it with a mike stand and broke it between the two G strings. They don't pop out but i'm fussy about my Rick!!! Hence the replacement.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 6:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3362
Location: Atlanta, GA
Be sure to remove all traces of the old glue before installation of the new nut.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 8:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 592
Location: Aloha, OR
Use Titebond,a yellow carpenters glue available at all hardware stores. A small amount on the base and edge against the F.B. is the same process as the factory uses.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 3:42 am
Posts: 359
the lazier option (that which my cousin opted for when he buit a Les Paul sty guitar) is to simply place the nut where it goes, the strings keep it in place pretty good, I don't think it'S theb est idea though


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:42 am
Posts: 1354
You are correct,Nick.A nut that is properly glued will transfer energy more efficiently than a loose one.As far as Titebond is concerned,it or Elmers Carpenters Glue will work fine.Just a drop will do it.DO NOT use Titebond 2,it's a waterproof,permanent glue,made for outdoor applications.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 577
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
I only put glue against the face that touches the fretboard and NOT on the base of the nut.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 7:54 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Melbourne Australia
Hey guys, still waiting for a nut to arrive to replace mine, but in the meantime i took off the old strings and replaced with Rickenbacker ones for 12 string and it solved the intonation problem. Seems that even the slightest incorrect gauge will make a difference to the tunings. Goes to show what a beautiful well balanced and made instrument it is.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Board index » Setup And Technical


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ
X