Board index » Setup And Technical




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 9:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3362
Location: Atlanta, GA
I would think that guitars being produced now would all have the wider spaced nut, as existing supplies of the narrower spacing should have been used up.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 6:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 3:42 am
Posts: 359
I'm gonna say it's the narrow one, seeing how the c63 is a repro of how they were manufactured back in the day.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 7:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3362
Location: Atlanta, GA
well, I would hope it's the wider spacing, as everyone seems thrilled about it.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 3:42 am
Posts: 359
IT does sound like it's 1000 times better, but let's not forget that the c series also employs the Kauffman vibrola for period correctness, seems strange that they'd go so far to get the 360/12 so close to George's only to swap the nut for something else.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 9:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3362
Location: Atlanta, GA
I've asked the question on the Rick Resources forum. Perhaps we'll get a definite answer there.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 10:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 21
Location: upstate New York
So Beatlefreak, I guess you're hoping that yours comes with the newer nut for better playability. I'm waiting as well and I am leaning towards the newer one also. Although, since it is a reissue of an historic model, I am kind of expecting it to be the older style nut. Whichever way it works out is fine with me.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3362
Location: Atlanta, GA
Of course I'm hoping for the wider spaced nut. I'd rather not have to order one and change it out. But if I have to, that's what I'd do.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 9:40 am
Posts: 70
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Well, with the help of the knowledgeable and helpful forumites here, I used the instructions above and transplanted the "new" nut onto my 360/12CW. No surprises, and it only took as long as it did because I was being as careful as possible. As expected, the new nut was a little taller than the original, and had to be sanded down.

I've only played a little afterward, but the extra width does seem to make a noticeable difference--now I can make a B7 chord without bothering the adjacent strings. Definitely worth the $10 investment in the nut.

Thanks for all the help!

Jim B.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Board index » Setup And Technical


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ
X