Board index » Setup And Technical




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 12:39 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 4038
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Quote:
Seems that even the slightest incorrect gauge will make a difference to the tunings.
Just to be slightly more precise, it's a matter of inconsistent gauge over the length of the string as opposed to the overall gauging of the string set.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 2:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 5:28 pm
Posts: 26
Location: massachusetts
i just replaced the nut on my 360/12 with the 12 string rick nut from the boutique for the slightly wider string spacing.It was very easy the only thing i didn't count on was that the overall height of the new nut was approx. 1/16th" taller than the nut i took off(with a block of wood and a slight hammer tap to the wood).i had to sand down the new nut with 220 grit sandpaper on a flat surface being careful to apply equal pressure to the nut so as to sand evenly.i'm very happy with the new nut it seems to give me slightly more room...Now if i could only figure out how to convert that little 5th knob to a "talent" knob...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 3:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 9:40 am
Posts: 70
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Quote:
Now if i could only figure out how to convert that little 5th knob to a "talent" knob...


I hate it when my guitars are more talented than I am!

I assume you only sanded the surface that faces the neck (bottom?), and the width was the same? I have this mod in my future, also.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 5:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 5:28 pm
Posts: 26
Location: massachusetts
yes i only had to sand the bottom,other two directional measurements were exactly the same.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 11:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 165
Location: Mildenhall Suffolk UK
Quote:
I hate it when my guitars are more talented than I am!

Better looking too...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 1:33 am
Posts: 27
Location: PA
My 360/12FG was made in Oct. '05, and I had assumed it had the older closer string spaced nut. From what I could gather, the newer wider spaced nut was not fitted as standard at that point in time. So I ordered a new nut, 03327, that I planned to install. Well, it arrived and it has the same spacing as the one installed already! So apparently Ric was fitting these in October '05 after all. I'm glad that I don't have to perform surgery! I also can't imagine the strings being any closer together than what I have!
For anyone who may be contemplating the swap, you may want to measure the spacing on your current nut first to see if you already have the wider spaced nut, as there doesn't seem to be a definitive date when the switch was made. I measured it at 1-13/32", from the centerlines of the outermost E string slots. Not exact perhaps, but certainly close enough to tell if you already have the new nut.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3362
Location: Atlanta, GA
It might be possible that the new nut you received was part of old stock with the narrower spacing. Anyone from RIC care to comment?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 4:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 1:33 am
Posts: 27
Location: PA
Hadn't thought of that. I'd sure like confirmation that the part I ordered just last week is in fact the new nut.
I will admit, looking at the nut, there doesn't appear to be much material left to get the slots much closer to the edges.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 4:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 2:00 pm
Posts: 410
Location: Virginia, USA
In a sister-related forum there is a very helpful extreme close-up photo of the two nuts side-by-side.

There is a very noticeable difference.

I just haven't had the guts (or the time) to swap mine out yet.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3362
Location: Atlanta, GA
I believe this is the thread Firstbassman is referring to:

http://www.rickresource.com/discus/mess ... 1153253853


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Board index » Setup And Technical


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ
X