Board index » Setup And Technical




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 8:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:00 pm
Posts: 233
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
My 360/12 was made in August of 2005 and I was also wondering if it had the newer wider nut.

I saw the picture on the ricresource site but I still can't tell for sure which nut I have.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 8:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 207
Location: Massachusetts
So I ordered a replacement nut for my 360/12WB, which was manufactured in June of '95, and the spacing appears virtually identical to the original. I am assuming it is the original since it has Jetglo on it. I'm measuring 37mm between the outer slots,(edit: 1 13/32 in inches) same as what's on the guitar now. The actual position of the individual strings seem to be spot on, as well. Spacing between the top 3 string pairs is about 6/32. Any thoughts would be appreciated. The pic on the ricksource page that compares nuts has what I'm assuming is the new nut on top and both my original and replacement match the top nut. I have never played another 360/12 other than my own so I don't know if mine is normal or I'm just lucky or the WB 330 style guitars got a different nut?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 9:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3362
Location: Atlanta, GA
If you follow the link I posted above, you can actually see the difference between a 360 nut and the new 330 nut. It's only a small amount, but everyone who's gotten one of the new nuts says it's a world of difference.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 9:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 1:33 am
Posts: 27
Location: PA
I saw that picture comparing the old with the new nut. The slot spacing on the new one I just received looks more like the top one in the photo, as there isn't much material left on either side of the nut. As I said, the nut that came installed on my Oct. '05 360/12 matches the new one I just received. But, without knowing if the new nut measures 1-13/32" between the outer slots, just looking at it really doesn't answer the question. Can someone at Ric please confirm that the new nut is supposed to measure 1-13/32" between the slots, and put this issue to bed?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3362
Location: Atlanta, GA
It's possible that RIC started making the wider spaced nut in '05. I thought is was just this year - Perhaps John Hall can comment?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 207
Location: Massachusetts
As I mentioned, my 360/12WB is a '95 that I've owned since '04 and the nut matches the 03327 I bought through the boutique. Weird.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 1:33 am
Posts: 27
Location: PA
That is weird. I hope we all can get an explanation soon.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 461
Location: New York/New Jersey
I just checked my 360/12 with a serial number of 05 3219x, so it was built in the 32nd week of 2005. My nut measures 1 11/32" (actually a smidge over, more like 1 23/64" or 34mm) from top to bottom E-string centers.

So, I'm assuming that the old nut is 1 11/32" and the new one is 1 13/32" across the string centers?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3362
Location: Atlanta, GA
That would seem about right. The new nuts were designed to take into account the neck binding as if it were part of the fretboard, which would be about 1/16".


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing nut on 360/12
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:00 pm
Posts: 233
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Quote:
I just checked my 360/12 with a serial number of 05 3219x, so it was built in the 32nd week of 2005. My nut measures 1 11/32" (actually a smidge over, more like 1 23/64" or 34mm) from top to bottom E-string centers.

So, I'm assuming that the old nut is 1 11/32" and the new one is 1 13/32" across the string centers?


Hey Kevin, my 360/12 was made in the 32 week also. My serial number is 05 3212x. So are you thinking that yours has the older nut.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Board index » Setup And Technical


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ
X