Board index » Setup And Technical

Post subject: what pickups ??
 Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:44 pm 

HI, newbie here, needing some advice

been playing my 360/6 for about two years now and cant really get "that" sound,(i.e. 60s jangly; despite going through a top boost AC30 and some compression/sustain!!) as i read more and more forums like this it appears its the fault of the Hi gain pickups fitted, should i change to vintage toaster, obviously i've seen them for sale around at $100 a piece, but these seem to be the same thing and are much cheaper,......have a look....

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... &sspagenam

does anybody know anything about them...are they a good substitute for real ric pickups or crap sounding....and one last thing...if i DO change to real rics vintage toasters WILL i hear a difference????

Post subject: Re: what pickups ??
 Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:57 pm 

Catboy,

Welcome!

These pickups you have the link to are minihumbuckers rather than single coils, so they won't actually sound like toasters. Despite the look of a toaster, it is actually a single coil. The closest RIC sound will be the RIC Humbuckers - which will be darker than your hi-gains.

Secondly, I suspect that the shape of these pickups may be in breach of RIC intellectual property rights, though I would leave that to a RIC authority to make the call. If so, the auction will be closed down pronto.... as would be proper.

Lastly, have you tried using different strings to get the brighter jangly sound? It is amazing how much difference a little thing like this can make.

Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 5:18 pm 

aha, thought it might be too good to be true, might just shell out for the real thing!!.....

....what strings would you recomend?

Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:42 pm