Board index » Just Basses




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: need new amp
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 879
Location: boston,ga
LT, Ive done nothing yet, Funds are low, Been using my genz-benz combo. So far so good. :)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need new amp
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 2:00 pm
Posts: 302
Location: el cajon,cal
Many people have had good luck with an Ampeg B-4. They are only about 100 watts. They are much like an SVT at a fraction of the cost. There are 3 or 4 of those puppys used around San Diego. Check around your area for a used B-4 or B-4b. Good luck.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need new amp
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:00 pm
Posts: 558
Location: Arkansas
Cheapest 'big pwr' head I've found was the Behringer. I needed something and, for $199 and 300wrms, it was the most-for-least. The tone's a little dry..mid's are a little hard. I cut the 500Hz EQ band for a little scoop and it's tolerable. Mine is a BX3000T. I saw they were now $249/450watts. If these new ones are as good as mine, they'll be worth it, in a bargain-basement sense, that is. It'll get you back in the game until you can get something serious. (I think they actually are Ashdown's in cheap trim but with smarter EQ points)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need new amp
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Arkansas
Go for the Traynor YBA200..All tube for around 600 bucks delivered. You want tubes for a Ric, believe me.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need new amp
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Rock Oak, WV
I have a vintage Ampeg V4B----100W, all tube, frequency modulation switches. Get one from eBay for aboout $350-$400. Great sound with a Ric, gotta have tubes.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need new amp
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:00 pm
Posts: 558
Location: Arkansas
Quote:
I have a vintage Ampeg V4B----100W, all tube, frequency modulation switches. Get one from eBay for aboout $350-$400. Great sound with a Ric, gotta have tubes.


You don't perchance still have the 2x15, twin-folded-horn V4B cab't that head once sat on, do you? Ya' know, Geddy used a pair...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need new amp
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 12:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 2:00 pm
Posts: 72
Location: MT AIRY, NC
Quote:
Quote:
I have a vintage Ampeg V4B----100W, all tube, frequency modulation switches. Get one from eBay for aboout $350-$400. Great sound with a Ric, gotta have tubes.


You don't perchance still have the 2x15, twin-folded-horn V4B cab't that head once sat on, do you? Ya' know, Geddy used a pair...
Or... a nice Tube Preamp into a Solid state. My Hartke sounds amazing with a Blue Tube II driving it.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need new amp
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 4:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 2:00 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Hickory,NC
I'd like to try the new Line 6 300wt bass combo. From what I've heard they are very good amps. They also make a 150wt and a 175wt combo too.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need new amp
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 11:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 2:00 pm
Posts: 738
I thought I read that Ashdown makes a 500 watt 410 bass combo. I'm not sure about the price, though.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need new amp
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 3:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Rock Oak, WV
Its gotta be tubes, not half-tubes, not imitation tubes. I had a 1968 Fender Bassman years ago that sounded great. In 1973, for some reason, I sold it and went with solid state for 30 years and wondered what was missing. I got tubes again a few years ago and found what was lost. GOTTA BE TUBES---nothing else cuts it.

Fun-dah-mental --- I have three Classic Series Ampeg cabinets: 1 4-10"/horn, 1 2-10"/horn and 1-15".


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Board index » Just Basses


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ
X