Board index » Just Basses

Post subject: 4003 Adjustable Mute Issues
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:46 pm 

Hi guys! I was excited to try out the adjustable mute on my 2006 4003 bass; I've never used it before, and only recently I figured out that muting is integral to that McCartney percussive sound I aspire to. Anyway... there is surprising little information available about the adjustable mute on the internet. I thought that loosening the thumb screws on the bridge would allow the mute to "rise up" and contact the strings. However, loosening them had no effect on the height of the mute. In fact, one of the bridge screws came out entirely and now I can't get it to screw back in (alas, that is another story). For the moment, I'm curious to ask if I understand the adjustable mute mechanic correctly, and I'm curious if anyone has any suggestions for me. I read elsewhere that the mute is often too big for the slot and that 4003 owners often have to trim it down to make it fit. Hopefully, it's feasible for me to handle this myself; otherwise, I guess I'll be visiting a luthier. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide! - Daniel

Post subject: Re: 4003 Adjustable Mute Issues
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 5:38 am