Board index » Just Basses

Post subject: New to this Forum
 Post Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:42 am 

Hello all Rickenbacker fans,

Just joint this forum. Thanks for letting me in!
I'm a Dutch guy living in Finland. I started playing bass at the end of the 70's when I bought a brand new Cimar (by Ibanez) Japanese Precision kind of bass. I still have it and it's not a bad bass at all actually.
Somewhere in the second half of the 80's I purchased a used black Music Man Stingray of '77 complete with Trace Eliot stack. The stack I sold, the bass is still here and has become worth at least 4 times what I paid for it.
I also have a Fender American Standard Cherry red Jazz bass, year 2011, I think.
I had for a short time the Epiphone Jack Casady. Not bad but not my cup of tea.
And than we get to this year. Always liked the Rickenbacker basses and their sound. During a business trip last May, I had some time to spare in New York and walked into Sam Ash's shop in Manhattan. I came in saw a 4003W and it was love at first side. I tried it and I didn't want to leave without it. I did but later that week I picked it up anyway and brought Wally home (Wally Nut from Walnut...).
I still love it although Larry Hartke could have warned me at the store. Warned me that you don't touch your other basses anymore! Fantastic bass. I made some minor adjustments to the set-up, put flat-wounds on it (sorry for that :oops: ), put a little thumb rest on it and I am as happy as can be. I love the sound of flat-wounds in combination with plectrum but I also use my fingers, depends what the song calls for.
About one month later I saw an local add here at home for an unused 4003 in Midnight Blue. The price was ridiculous, so I bought it. It really was ttally new, not ascratch on it. Some of you may want more than one Ric but it just didn't made sense to me. Played the same, same modell, only different color. So I sold it with a €400 profit ;) .