Board index » Just Basses

Post subject: Need help with bass guitars...
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:00 am 

Hello everyone!

I'm new to bass guitars, never played one, but I've played guitar for some time, so I'm not that new to music... I like Rickenbacker bass guitars and I know they're good quality work too (and expensive!). Now, what bass guitar would you recommend to me?

I play hard rock, heavy metal and some progressive music... so, should I buy 4003 or 4004? First, what is this output type? 4004 has only mono, 4003 has mono and stereo (shouldn't it be better then?). And what do you think, 4 string bass vs. 5 string bass? Is that 5th string nessecary?

And one more thing, what would be the perfect amplifier head for 4003/4004 (remember, hard rock / heavy metal!).

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Need help with bass guitars...
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 2:22 am 

A 4001, 4003 or 4004 will fit into a hard rock / heavy metal mix very well. I've used then all, getting results for excellent tone and cutting through the sound of the band when playing that type of music. I really can't say which one I like better, they each have their own great attributes for sound and feel.
The questions you ask are very good ones, but the answers are subjective due to the amounts of opinions you might get, especially when it comes to amplifiers.